Happy Holidays!


So, Christmas is in less than a week.

It has come to my attention that there is a certain group of people who get all pissy about a certain phrase.

“Happy holidays.”

Keep Christ in Christmas, they grumble, this is persecution. Don’t secularize our holiday.

Last year, I wished people a merry Christmas. This year, the few days before the holiday, I will again.

But for the last week or so, when I wished my customers or other strangers/acquaintances anything but a good day, it’s been a happy holidays.

I say happy holidays for the simple reason that I don’t know which winter holiday these people choose to celebrate. They could be celebrating Hanukkah  and I’d feel weird if people all wished me a happy Hanukkah when that’s not what I observe.

Honestly, I care exactly not at all which holiday other people choose to celebrate. I don’t think it’s an attack on my beliefs or culture. Why get all pissy about it when it has absolutely no bearing on your life?

Usually I just appreciate that another human being took the time to wish me happiness at all.

So, with that said, I want to take this opportunity to wish you, my reader, some very happy holidays.

To my close friends whose choice of holiday I know, merry Christmas!

Thanks for sticking around and reading my rants and rambles. May you be blessed in the New Year!

  1. I’ve never understood the whole “Keep Christ in Christmas” thing in relationship to “Happy Holidays” Considering Holiday basically means Holy day. Merry Christmas to you too, dear sister!

  2. I usually say Happy Hannukah to everyone unless they’re Jewish. That’s when I say Merry Christmas.

  3. http://www.chroniclesmagazine.org/2012/12/20/christmas-some-caveats/comment-page-1/#comment-214811

    “Have a holly, jolly Kwanzaa,
    Or a lovely Hannukah.
    And I insist
    You have a great Solstice
    No matter where you are.

    Have a whiz- bang Chinese New Year
    Or a Ramadan, I guess.
    Or just defer
    And go secular
    Do whatever you feel is best.

    And to all the rest of us, Have a Merry Festivus!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

