In which Bethany Creates Christmas Things


Thanksgiving is over. Finally, I can say with pride…

CHRISTMAS IS COMING!!!

Oh my gosh. I’m really, really excited for Christmas this year. I don’t have to make seasonal coffee drinks, and I have an apartment to decorate. This means I have ultimate creative power over the Christmas tree that I choose. (My roommate gets to help, obviously, but there is an understanding that the Christmas tree is kind of my thing.)

However, one problem that has arisen is that, since this is my first Christmas on my own, I have zero Christmas decorations.,

No problem!

Today, I (with the help of my roommate,) acquire clear Christmas ornaments, which I then proceeded to paint.

I used a bit of hemp string to suspend the baubles between two bottles. Then I had the brilliant idea of chalkboard paint. (Probably the smartest thing I’ve thought of all month.)

 

Of course, I did do the acrylic paint inside the bauble thing, too. I adore the marbled effect.

That one reminded me of a blue sky with some scruffy clouds.

Here we have the two chalkboard painted ornaments with another marbled one. Unfortunately I feel it necessary to point out that the chalkboard paint goes on the OUTSIDE of the ornament.

And here is the final product, complete with bad handwriting on the chalk! The chalkboard paint took well over three hours to dry, and although the one coat seems sufficient, I might yet put a second coat on them.

Also today I started creating many Christmas presents, which you may not see! Next I just have to buy a Christmas tree…

EDIT: This is my 100th Blip in the Cosmos post! Yay! I thought I was going to plan something special for this moment and instead you get a bunch of poor photos. Oh well! I love you guys!

    • Kjiersten
    • November 29th, 2012

    Those are cool!

    • Thanks! They seemed like the kind of thing you guys might have.

  1. Cute:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

