Two Jobs


Dear everyone:

This week, I am adjusting to having two jobs, which means my schedule is much more busy than I’ve become accustomed to, and that’s part of the reason my blogs are probably going to be short this week and next week.

However I absolutely adore both of my new jobs. I’ve been working once a week or so at Oblique Coffee Roasters. I highly recommend you visit this place if you’re in the Portland area. It’s not a very large operation (yet) and the coffee is terrific. The space is open and inviting with a couple of comfy couches, and every time I’ve been in (even the first time) I’ve had interesting conversations with the owners, who are almost always behind the bar. I love it.

The other place I’ve become employed is the Fresh Pot. This is a rather different job than I’m used to, as there are three locations and the coffee is from Stumptown. The location I work for resides cozily inside the Powell’s Books on Hawthorne. Can you say terrific? I work in a coffee shop inside a book store. It’s like everything I’ve ever dreamed of. The coffee is good quality, my co-workers are friendly, and I also adore this new job.

Yesterday I took the beginner’s training course at Stumptown. I didn’t really learn anything about technique that  I didn’t already know, but it was good to learn a little about the company and also to see the roastery. Since  I’ve only ever worked for small scale roasters, it was really fun to see the other end of the spectrum– as in a giant Probat instead of a small one.

That’s all I have for now.

See you on Wednesday!

    • Rae
    • June 28th, 2012

    That was Wednesday…

    • What was Wednesday?

        • Rae
        • June 29th, 2012

        You said “See you on Wednesday!” at the end of the blog, and it was Wednesday already.

        • Oops. Silly me. That’s what happens when I try to blog under the influence of tired. ;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

