Living Intentionally.


Shortly after I moved out of my parents’ house and my hometown, I was struck by a sudden and unpleasant revelation: It was time to learn how to be an adult, and I had no idea how to learn that.

Through trial and a lot of error, I have a theory.

Intentional living.

I realized that every day, I’m turning more into the person I’m going to be. If that makes any sense. So to be the kind of human I want to be eventually, I have to invest my time into doing things that will make me evolve into the Bethany I want to be next year, in five years, and forever. If I live every day carelessly, controlled by my whims, I will never mature.

Not that spontaneity is bad. Indeed, I want future Bethany to have just as much, even more, of a taste for spontaneity as present Bethany. But living every day flying by my ass isn’t going to make that happen– all that’s going to be accomplished by living carelessly is an empty bank account, too much stuff, and a lot of regrets.

I don’t know about you, but I try to live regret-free.

That’s prettymuch all I have for today.

In other news, I’m launching a new blog tomorrow! It’s focused entirely on coffee-related topics, and will update every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, so you can get your dose of my writing every day if you want, or if you only want to hear about coffee you won’t have to wade through the musings and whimsy here on Blip, and if you like my musings but get tired of my coffee rants, you’re also in luck. Something to please everyone I guess. It’s called PDX Coffee Nomad, and you can go there to learn more about it.

I’m also taking this opportunity to be more intentional about my blogging and actually writing before my self-imposed deadlines so that this will actually be updated M-W-F instead of so late at night that it might as well be T-TH-ST.

Cheers!

    • john
    • June 18th, 2012

    Boo, seriously the smattering of profanity that is becoming part of your writing style doesn’t add anything, it actually detracts from your content.

    • Kjiersten
    • July 1st, 2012

    I’ll read PDX Coffee Nomad, after there’s a new post. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

