Let the World be Quiet


Frequently, I have no idea what to blog about. Oftentimes when that happens, I want to run around outside to clear my head and hopefully be struck with a lightning bolt of inspiration.

Lately I haven’t been doing that though, because I’ve been living in Lake Oswego and I haven’t met the neighbors, and they might get freaked out and think I’m a crazy person and then give the LO police department something mildly interesting to do, like come to my house and make sure I’m sober and sane.

Anyway.

Tonight when I didn’t know what to write, I decided to indulge my desire to go outside and think about what to write, since I’m in small-town Redmond where my neighbors either can’t see me and wouldn’t care if they did because gosh dangit they should be used to me by now.

Earlier in the evening, my dog was sitting on the back deck, bolt upright, ears perked forward, apparently listening intently to the family of frogs. “That’s pretty cute,” I thought, then sat down in front of my mom’s computer to scroll through Facebook and listen to my latest music obsession on YouTube.

However, the Internet never ever inspires me. I’m not sure why, but I only ever get ideas from real life and conversations with people.

So I went outside and looked up at the stars.

“What should I write about?” I asked, not expecting an answer.

The frogs chirped happily away, not knowing or caring that I was having writer’s block. Frogs are prone to chirping at night in the springtime.

I stood listening to them for a moment, struck by how musical frogs are. I am prone to forgetting how musical nature is.

Remembering to shut up for a second and listen for sound in the silence is something I’m very bad at– I always have been. I was talking out loud to myself before the frogs interrupted me, reminding me that my voice isn’t the most important voice in the world.

My voice is just another lil blip in the cosmos, and I need to be quiet sometimes and enjoy the answers in the silence.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

