So where did Bethany go?


Well, I got too depressed to write. I succumbed to the temptation to kill off characters in order to keep the plot going instead of having a solid plot to begin with.

Thus, I shaped my plot around the assumption that two key characters—my two favorite characters—must die in order for my main character (who, to be honest, I still find bland,) to save the world.

And after I killed those two, I couldn’t write.

Not until now, anyway. Whenever I opened a word document, I saw the graphic death I had imagined instead of black words on white background.

It’s horrible.

I think on my next fiction project, I should spare myself and do children’s literature. Honestly, it will be a much greater challenge for me.

Anyway, that explains my disgusting blogging hiatus. I get too wrapped up in my own brain and I can’t shake it. One of these days I’ll learn how to push past the depression/fear/whatever that was and write anyway.

For those of you who have been following the excerpts I’ve been posting about Bob, well, the story will be finished at some point.

But I admit, I failed NaNoWriMo. The last time I wrote was on the 15th. If I had continued at the rate I was writing, I would have above and beyond completed  the 50,000 wordcount goal on time.

However, I think I shot myself in the foot in several ways, the first being the aforementioned gratuitous, depressing character massacre.

Secondly, when I started writing I had only part of the story in mind. I couldn’t spend enough time in the one section as I intended, so I had to plan for more plot. The rest of the plot is good and I love it, but I think not planning for it initially has handicapped my character.

Finally, I think I was overambitious at first. I didn’t pace myself—I straight up went crazy, so I burned out. Obviously.

Anyway, starting tomorrow I’m going to try to do the two hours a day thing again. I’m expecting it to go better this time, because I won’t be so focused on Bob that he consumes my brain and soul. (Well, I sort of started today, but not in earnest.)

Regular posts are back, yay!

Here’s a picture of my ukulele for you, which I drew on today. Come to think of it, that’s what started getting me out of my creative slump. Hooray?

Swirls make everything better. Including creative depression.

 

  1. I agree about swirls! Yours look great.

    As for writing, have you seen the movie “Stranger Than Fiction”? I think there is MUCH there that you would appreciate. Plus, it’s just a real good flick.

    • Thanks! I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve been meaning to since… Well, since it was released, really. I must watch that now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

