Bob, the continuing story. (aka part 7)


So I know that me just updating you guys on my book is probably getting really boring, but just know that I don’t want to write what happens next.

I’ll give you an excerpt to read because  I forgot that I’m supposed to blog on Wednesdays.

____

Together, Alex, Bob, and Shirley moved one of the heavier desks in front of the door to the stairwell, and another in front of the elevator just for good measure.

As they worked, Bob and Shirley questioned Alex.

“What were you trying to get from here? And why?” Bob asked as they lifted a second desk onto the first.

“Well, after people started acting so strange I figured I should loot what I could, you know?” Alex smirked, “This office wasn’t my first choice, but I thought I could at least trade some computers for food or whatever.”

Shirley snorted, and Alex continued. “Look lady, it was like 3 in the morning. I was stoned out of my mind, and I wasn’t exactly thinking anything beyond ‘oh my god zombies’”

“Alex, these aren’t zombies,” Shirley said, “Zombie implies living dead. These people are neither living nor dead.”

“What are you saying, Shirley?” Bob dropped a pile of vending machine snacks.

“I think they’re possessed by something,” Shirley said quietly.

Bob and Alex looked at each other, then at Shirley.

“Elaborate?” Bob asked, but Shirley shook her head. “It’s just a theory, and not a very good one at that. Let’s get to work.”

Shirley and Bob began dragging yet another desk toward the door to the stairwell. Alex didn’t move.

“Well, skinny one, come and help us,” Shirley snapped, “These doors aren’t going to barricade themselves.”

Alex still stood in one spot, and looked at Shirley curiously.

“You seem like a pretty smart dame,” he said, “So how do you think you’re going to survive in a place like this for more than a few hours? We need to find more survivors.”

“And how do you suggest we do that?” Bob growled, shoving the desk against the door. “Fly outta here?”

“Not exactly,” Alex began pacing, “But it’s going to sound just about as crazy.”

“I’m listening,” Shirley sighed, and Alex smiled.

“We’re going to need more fire extinguishers.”

_____

The crowd downstairs had quieted. Dusk was falling. Occasionally a voice would whine, “I’m so hungry…”

An ominous atmosphere settled on the office building.

The door at the bottom of the stairwell opened slightly, and Alex peered out.

“Ready, you two?”

Whether or not Bob and Shirley nodded remains unknown, but Alex didn’t care.

“Hey, zombie scum! Come and get me!” he shrieked, his voice cracking, and he sprinted headlong from the stairwell across the office, toward the back door.

“I’m so hungry,” one of the strange voices cried, and a figure stumbled after Alex. It was soon joined by more.

Bob and Shirley watched as the first floor emptied, then snuck out into the demolished area.

Each was brandishing a fire extinguisher, and had another crudely strapped to their back with duct tape.

A movement in the corner caught Bob’s attention, and he started, aiming the extinguisher at it.

“I’m so hungry?” a voice whined, and a shape stepped out of the shadows.

Shirley gasped.

It was a woman, dressed in jeans and a camisole—but she didn’t have eyes.

___

Again, to be continued– but I don’t think I shall be posting anymore direct excerpts. I can’t give away plot details, of course– and there’s a doozy of a plot detail in the very next sentence.

Suspense!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

