Bob pt. 6 and an announcement concerning Bob.


The front door slammed.

“Hello?” the voice called out again.

Shirley grabbed Bob’s hand and dragged him toward the first door that presented itself– a conference room.

They sneaked in and closed the door gently. Bob collapsed on the floor, gasping. He felt around in his pockets for his inhaler as Shirley cautiously peered out the tiny window.

She started and ducked as a shadow went by the window. The voice outside was grumbling to itself. Bob took a deep breath.

“Could’ve sworn I head voices in here that weren’t freaky,” it suddenly shouted.

Bob and Shirley exchanged a significant look, and as the grumbling outside receded Shirley stood. “Damn,” she punched her open palm, “What I wouldn’t give to have a fire extinguisher right now!”

“Stay here,” she ordered, “And follow me when I call you.”

“Shirley–” Bob started, but she was already outside the room, stealthily moving toward the fire extinguisher in the hall.

Bob watched as she silently took it down and stalked toward the break room. She moved out of sight, and Bob clenched his jaw.

Throwing caution to the wind, he ran out of the conference room and through the deserted office. Sounds of conflict reached him, and he burst into the break room to see Shirley standing over a dark, skinny man, with the fire extinguisher over her head.

“Stop her!” the man implored, and Bob caught Shirley’s arm.

“Let me go, Bob! He might be one of Them!”

“I’m not! I swear to God I’m not!” the man crab-crawled back and hit his head on a table.

Shirley backed away, circling around behind the stranger.

“Prove it,” Bob challenged him.

The man rubbed the back of his head. “I’m not one of them,” he said, standing, “Because I was in here stealing stuff. I’ve been watching you two since you got here, Bob.”

Suddenly, Shirley seized his arms from behind. “His eyes, Bob. Check his eyes.”

The stranger didn’t struggle, and Bob peered into his eyes, “They look fine to me, Shirley.”

She released him and stared into his face to verify.

“Welcome to our club, o skinny one,” she shook his hand, “Sorry about clubbing you, but as you’re probably aware that’s kind of my standard MO. Did you say you were stealing from this building?”

The stranger blushed slightly and rubbed the back of his neck. “Yeah. I suppose you should call the police, but I can’t imagine them being any help.”

Shirley laughed, “So what’s your name?”

“Name’s Alex,” he replied, “Professional zombie slayer.”

“Well, we may need your unique talent sooner rather than later.

The sounds from the first floor were growing louder.

“Well, Alex,” Bob took the new recruit by the shoulder, “Let’s get to work barricading.”

___

TO BE CONTINUED!

Well, it will be continued. But this is the last that Blip in the Cosmos will be seeing of Bob for a while.

See, I decided (prompted by this) to start really working my butt off at writing.

Hence, I’m am going to take Bob, merge him with another story I’ve had rattling around in my head for a couple of years, and participate in NaNoWriMo. (Rebecca, Trishelle, and Kiehl, rejoice!)

Obviously I won’t be participating competitively– I have a couple thousand words to both stories I’m going to merge, and it would be totally lame to start off four thousand words ahead of the curve.

Rather, I’m taking NaNoWriMo as a very personal challenge. Not only shall  I complete a fifty-thousand word novel by the end of November, but I shall also keep up with my twice weekly blogging.

Can I do it?

Watch me.

    • Robin
    • October 31st, 2011

    You go! I believe in you! :-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

