Bob, pt. 1


So I’m discontent with how brief my post from yesterday was, so I’m writing again. I’m bringing a change of pace this time– this little story I wrote this morning at work. I had no customers for like an hour and a half, so I wrote this on the back of the chore list. Enjoy!

_____

Once upon a time, there was a dude named Bob. Everyone assumed his real name was Robert, but there it was on his birth certificate– Bob.

Well, one day, Bob was driving to work when he noticed something strange. He was the only car on the road, and even though it was getting close to nine AM, he hadn’t seen another human– not in his neighborhood, nor through town, nor driving.

“I wonder what’s going on?” he mused to himself, parking at his office building. “I wonder if it’s a holiday and I forgot.”

He walked up to the building’s front doors and was surprised to find them slightly open.

“Curiouser and curiouser,” he said, and snorted at himself for the quote.  He looked around the deserted first floor, and continued, “This surely isn’t Wonderland.”

Bob rode the elevator up the vacant building to his office, and found it devoid of life.

He chuckled to himself, “I must be the only good employee.” He went to his cubicle and booted his computer, “I’d best check to make sure there aren’t any important emails I’ve missed that explain this nonsense.”

As his computer came to life, Bob found that the Internet wasn’t functioning. He found and rebooted the modem to no avail.

Frustrated, Bob picked up the phone to call support, only to find the line dead. Bob checked every phone in the office, then every phone in the building.

Just as he picked up and threw down the last phone on the top floor, the power suddenly went out.

Scared, Bob rifled through his briefcase for his cell phone. “I can’t believe I didn’t think of this before,” he grumbled, but no cell phone was to be found, and Bob realized that it was still sitting peacefully on his nightstand, no doubt overheating from charging for too long.

Angry and confused, Bob climbed the last set of stairs to the roof. He kicked some stray pebbles and bottle caps at the pigeons, who flew away in a huff.

He sighed and leaned resignedly against the wall, staring out over the city without seeing.

Bob didn’t know how long he had been standing there when a movement in the parking lot caught his eye.

It was Shirley, the receptionist from the office downstairs. But the way she was moving– something seemed wrong to Bob…

___

TO BE CONTINUED!

  1. October 19th, 2011
  2. October 23rd, 2011

Blip with me

