My love life…. Not yours


I don’t know about you, but my life seems to be filled with people who seem to have a little problem. A little problem with me. A little problem with the fact that I’m 19, single, and love it. Some people seem to have a problem with the fact that I’m not going to be married for several years. They seem to think that getting married young is more righteous, or that I’m the marrying type so obviously I want to hear what they have to say about how to start and maintain a relationship!

Hello, people? If I wanted your input, I would ask you!

So behold, for the good of man and woman-kind, here is why you should never give people unsolicited relationship advice.

First, don’t give people relationship advice unless they’ve asked you specifically, or if you know them pretty well and they’ve made it clear that they want to change their relationship circumstances. Never butt into a conversation people are having about relationships and throw in your advice. It makes you look so tacky.

Specifically, don’t assume people want to get married, want kids, or are single. If you’re offering advice without being asked, I’m going to say you don’t know.

Secondly, has it crossed your mind that you might not be right? Or that your perspective might be totally wrong for the person you’re talking to? Lots of girls are on their own, single, and still remain chaste– and even if they don’t, unless they’ve made it your business, it isn’t. What is with the assumption that all girls living on their own are living the “swingin’ single” lifestyle?

Also, marriage for the sake of marriage is NOT the highest good. Leaping into a marriage just because you’re afraid of becoming an “old maid” in your circle is an awful idea. It sounds to be like a great way to end up with an uncivilized farm boy who thinks that women were put on the earth solely to pleasure and serve men.

It all boils down to one thing– Respect people’s ability to make decisions about their own lives.

I don’t need a male person to validate me, my femininity, or my worth. God loves me, and that’s all I need.

Who needs a man?

That is all.

 

  1. It seems like the older I get the more looks at I get that say “Why aren’t u dating? You need a man!!” Well guess what I am single and love it too! Love you girl!

  2. Oh yes. There will always be those who believe they have the answers for YOUR life. If you’re single, they know this guy. If you’re married they know how many kids you should have…and when. If you’ve got kids and have been blessed with several they will let you know when you’ve had too many. If you only have one they will tell you you don’t have enough.

    *sigh* Don’t let ’em get to ya! You just keep smilin’ and being YOU. You’re great at it.

  3. All you ever need? is to be happy with what you want to do and how you feel. It doesn’t matter what others think then, some people are just so damn happy with their relationship they want a reason to gloat and some aren’t happy with the fact that they aren’t in one and want someone to share their disappointment, least that’s the way i see it anyways :)

    • I definitely think you’re right! That’s a part that I missed. Thank for commenting and subscribing! Means a lot to me. :)

      • You’re most welcome! keep the positive thoughts going. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

