Rush


For much of my life, I’ve been a little bit of an adrenaline junkie. My earliest memory of rush-seeking is a couple of years after I started skiing. I was tired of the same old easy runs, and  I decided it was time I took on a black diamond. I knew that I hadn’t the strength to control my speed down the hill, (and I didn’t really want to anyway,) so I pointed my skis straight downhill, raised my arms in a triumphant fashion, and yelled the whole way down the hill (which felt as steep as a cliff at the time.) Laughing and red-faced, I arrived back at the lift where my dad was working, and announced my accomplishment to him. He was pretty stoked, too.

I’ve always gotten a similar rush from performing arts and adventure sports. The thrill of giving a performance to an audience is very similar to the thrill of jumping off things or bombing down a hill that’s too steep.  It’s funny how my brain works, because it never realized the correlation until this morning.

I found out when I was 9 that I like performing. A little earlier than I found out I liked adventures, to be sure, but I liked them for the same reason. Since then I’ve like dancing, public speaking, and acting. The thrill that rushes from your core to your fingertips before you step onstage or go over the edge is just exquisite.

My self portraits are super refined.

I’m getting to the point, I promise.

I realized the correlation because last night I performed music by myself for the first time at a fundraiser for a friend who’s going to Ukraine for mission work. I was so scared I was shaking for the whole first song, but afterward…. Damn. I felt so awesome. Guys, adrenaline is amazing.

I don’t know if I sang particularly well, and I know I messed up on my guitar a few times, but I don’t even care, because I had the nerve to get up there and do something that terrified me.

Being scared of something and overcoming it is probably the best feeling in the world.

Next up? Skydiving.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

