Music & Soul


Tonight during a really good discussion about beliefs my friend Garrett brought up an excellent question about Christianity. Why do we sing worship songs?

I don’t know about you lot.

I engage in worshipful music for several reasons, which follow in order from least to most important. Firstly, I straight up love music. I’ve always had a knack for it, and I find no activity to be as soothing while still being a challenge. Secondly, I find deep satisfaction in the creation of beautiful sounds, particularly when it’s a team effort.

Finally, though, I engage in musical worship of my Cosmic Creator because music is a gateway between the natural and the supernatural, the physical and the metaphysical, the body and soul.

This is true no matter what belief system you follow, I think.

For example, I don’t listen to heavy metal because it gives me a creepy feeling in my stomach. I feel like I’m touching a side of the metaphysical that I’m not used to, and am not sure is good for me. On the contrary, when I engage in worshipful music I am not only singing praises to my Savior, I am reaching for a connection with the Creator God. Oftentimes it’s just reaching, but sometimes I do reach far enough to make the connection. My heart almost can’t stand it, every time. It feels like an overflow of love that  I surely don’t deserve.

This supernatural gateway is why music is such an integral part of every culture. Joyous music is joyous music.

“Shout to the LORD, all the earth; break out in praise and sing for joy!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

