A new Chapter


So, a new blog for me. A couple of years ago now I started a blog, but I fell away from keeping it updated. I got out of the habit of blogging when I realized I had nothing interesting to say. (You can check it out here.)

Okay yeah, so my last post there wasn’t really that long ago, but I feel like that blog is a relic of a past life. It’s not that my circumstances have changed much, or even that I personally have had a drastic change. Rather, when I started THAT blog, I was blogging for totally different reasons than why I started this new blog today.

That Bethany was still at community college, and she loved it. This Bethany… Not so much. She thought she was funny and clever and had grand adventures. I try to be all of the above, but only just realized that I’m not extraordinary in any of those areas. She was floating around her faith, not so sure. I feel cemented in Jesus (although chronically getting distracted… sigh.) She knew exactly what she wanted out of life. I, again… Not so much.

Also, that was on Blogspot, and WordPress is just far superior.

And also this Bethany is soon moving on to a pretty seriously different phase in my life. That’s right, boys and girls. I’m leaving home — both my parents’ house and my hometown. I’ve been feeling very antsy here lately. My hometown is kind of giving me the same feeling as an old sweatshirt. I love it, it’s familiar, I’m used to it, and I’ll always return to it as an old favorite, but I just really need a new one right now.

So coming soon — Feelings of fright and insecurity coupled with excitement and joy!

Anyway, I decided to start this blog tonight and not last week because today finished out my time working with the Children’s Theatre Company based here in Redmond. I assistant directed the last play (The Princess and the Pea) and I stage managed this most recent one (The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.) I’m having pretty severe post-performance letdown right now, because not only has this production concluded, but I realize I won’t see most of these kids for a very long time, and I probably won’t get to work with any of them ever again. I’m going to be gone for the next production, and I’m surprised at how sad I am that I won’t be able to be right at the center of it. Not only do I love theatre, but I really do love the people I’ve gotten to work with and get to know during these plays. They’re all amazing.

I’m one of those people who needs to have at least one thing to obsess over, and now that the play is over, I decided to obsess over making a decent blog. Yay me.

  1. Good luck with this new blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Blip with me

